WYOMING DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
MOTOR VEHICLE SERVICES
5300 BISHOP BLVD.
CHEYENNE, WY 82009-3340
307-777-4710

www.dot.state.wy.us

APPLICATION FOR STREET ROD AND CUSTOM VEHICLE PLATES
W. S.31-2-226 & W.S 31-2-227

O

O

CUSTOM VEHICLE STREET ROD
At least 25 years old and of a model year after 1800 — 1948 (1948 or older vehicle), or was
1948, or was manufactured to resemble this CHOOSE ONE manufactured to resemble this year of

year of vehicle. vehicle.

Has been altered from the manufacturer’s

original design, or has a body constructed
from non-original materials.

Has been altered from the manufacturer’s
original design, or has a body constructed
from non-original materials.

Please complete all the following information:

Name:
Address:
City: Wyoming Zip Code:
Make of Vehicle: Year of Vehicle Telephone Number
V.I-N Number: Title Number.
Type of Body: Color of Vehicle

****This application will not be processed without the following items:

Fee- $100.00 (cash or check—checks made payable to WYDOT)
Copy of Wyoming title in owner name

Proof of payment of sales tax

Proof of liability insurance

Photo of completed vehicle

AFFIDAVIT
I certify that the following information is true and correct: The vehicle will not be used for general
daily transportation. The vehicle will be used for occasional transportation and for activities related to
exhibitions, club activities, tours and parades. The owner of the vehicle has resided in Wyoming for at
least 1 year. The vehicle is titled in Wyoming. The vehicle qualifies as a custom vehicle or street rod
because it has either been altered from the manufacturer’s original design or it has abody constructed
from non-original materials.

Signature of Applicant Date

Please note:
Registration expires upon transfer of ownership or upon the department’s issuance of a new plate design.

Plate Number Assigned By Date
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31-2-226. Street rods.

(a) Street rods shall be registered and licensed pursuant to this section.

(b) For any vehicle meeting the definition of a street rod that requires a state assigned
vehicle identification number as provided in W.S. 31-11-105, the model year that is listed on the
certificate of title shall be the model year that the body of the vehicle resembles.

(c) To register a street rod, the owner shall submit an application to the department
indicating:

(1) The owner has resided in Wyoming for at least one (1) year;

(ii) The vehicle will be maintained for occasional transportation, exhibitions, club
activities, parades, tours and related activities and will not be used for general daily
transportation; and

(iii) The wvehicle is titled in Wyoming.

(d) Upon receipt of an approved application and payment of the street rod special license fee
the vehicle shall be registered and special license plates issued therefor. The department shall
issue a special street rod vehicle license plate of a size and design as prescribed by the
department. The registration expires upon transfer of ownership of the vehicle or upon the
department's issuance of a new plate design. The department may promulgate rules and regulations to
implement the provisions of this section.

(e) Unless the presence of the equipment was specifically required by the laws of this state
as a condition of sale for the year listed as the year of manufacture on the certificate of title,
the presence of any specific equipment is not required for the operation of a vehicle registered
under this section.

31-2-227. Custom vehicles.

(a) Custom vehicles shall be registered and licensed pursuant to this section.

(b) For any vehicle meeting the definition of a custom vehicle that requires a state assigned
vehicle identification number as provided in W.S. 31-11-105, the model year that is listed on the
certificate of title shall be the model year that the body of the vehicle resembles.

(c) To register a custom vehicle, the owner shall submit an application to the department
indicating:
(1) The owner has resided in Wyoming for at least one (1) year;
(ii) The vehicle will be maintained for occasional transportation, exhibitions, club

activities, parades, tours and related activities and will not be used for general daily
transportation; and

(iii) That the vehicle is titled in Wyoming.

(d) Upon receipt of an approved application and payment of the custom vehicle special license
fee the vehicle shall be registered and special license plates issued therefor. The department
shall issue a special custom vehicle license plate of a size and design as prescribed by the
department. The registration expires upon transfer of ownership of the vehicle or upon the
department's issuance of a new plate design. The department may promulgate rules and regulations to
implement the provisions of this section. Notwithstanding W.S. 31-2-205(a) (i) (A), for a custom
vehicle that was manufactured prior to 1968 or was originally manufactured to have one (1) license
plate, a license plate shall only be required to be displayed on the rear of the vehicle.

(e) Unless the presence of the equipment was specifically required by the laws of this state
as a condition of sale for the year listed as the year of manufacture on the certificate of title,
the presence of any specific equipment is not required for the operation of a vehicle registered
under this section.
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